# First time using Collabora Office and it's a disaster :(

**URL:** <https://forum.collaboraonline.com/t/first-time-using-collabora-office-and-its-a-disaster/3834>\
**Category:** User Support\
**Created:** [July 3, 2025, 3:52pm UTC](https://forum.collaboraonline.com/t/first-time-using-collabora-office-and-its-a-disaster/3834 "2025-07-03T15:52:38Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 3\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![ForeverNooob](https://dub1.discourse-cdn.com/flex013/user_avatar/forum.collaboraonline.com/forevernooob/32/1785_2.png) [@ForeverNooob](https://forum.collaboraonline.com/u/ForeverNooob)\
**Post date:** [July 3, 2025, 3:52pm UTC](https://forum.collaboraonline.com/t/first-time-using-collabora-office-and-its-a-disaster/3834/1 "2025-07-03T15:52:38Z")

</div>

So I opened a spreadsheet file (.ods) which was saved using LibreOffice.

I then accidentally copied some cells over other cells because it’s very easy to do so… since editing a spreadsheet on a phone isn’t really trivial.

“No worries” I said. I’ll just exit out of there and all will be ok. I opened the spreadsheet back up and surprise surprise… the changes are still there!

It appears that it saved before exiting? Did I hit a bug? How do I get it back the way it was?

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![darshan](https://dub1.discourse-cdn.com/flex013/user_avatar/forum.collaboraonline.com/darshan/32/2230_2.png) [@darshan](https://forum.collaboraonline.com/u/darshan)\
**Post date:** [July 3, 2025, 3:52pm UTC](https://forum.collaboraonline.com/t/first-time-using-collabora-office-and-its-a-disaster/3834/2 "2025-07-03T15:52:46Z")

</div>



---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![darshan](https://dub1.discourse-cdn.com/flex013/user_avatar/forum.collaboraonline.com/darshan/32/2230_2.png) [@darshan](https://forum.collaboraonline.com/u/darshan)\
**Post date:** [July 3, 2025, 3:55pm UTC](https://forum.collaboraonline.com/t/first-time-using-collabora-office-and-its-a-disaster/3834/3 "2025-07-03T15:55:03Z")

</div>

Hi! @ForeverNooob

This sounds frustrating and yes, most mobile apps like Collabora Office auto-save on exit, even if you don’t press “Save.” That’s likely why your accidental changes were kept.

If your file is stored on a cloud service like Nextcloud, check if version history is available to restore a previous version.

To avoid this in the future, try editing a copy or use cloud storage with versioning. And if you think this behavior should be improved, feel free to [file a GitHub issue](https://github.com/CollaboraOnline/online/issues) feedback like this is very helpful!
