Collabora Online Server / Accessing without Nextcloud/Owncloud

Hi,
this is a very beginner question. I am lacking some basic infomation on how collabora is intended to work.
We need a way to edit on-premise ods-files. In order to do so I’ve installed a nextcloud/ubuntu server with code (latest version).
I’ve read that the nextcloud integrated CODE is slow and a CODE-server would be preferable.

In our environment, CODE ist the only reason that we have set up the nextcloud-server.
Can the CODE/COOL-server be accessed directly. i.e. can documents be edited on the server without a nextcloud installation?

I hope that this will reduce complexity and accelerated the system.

Could anyone point me to
-documentation / installation manuals
-professional consulting or installation services?

Thanks a lot

Martin

Hi Martin,

I am a beginner too, but I think I have come to understand that Collabora Online is the back-end, not Nextcloud/Owncloud etc.

Logically, and from the website I had thought there was a Collabora Online WebUI which connected to Nextcloud/Owncloud as a storage back-end and otherwise had little to do with it. This is not the case, it seems!

It’s the other way around; you use the Owncloud/Nextcloud WebUI to browse files (or create a new one), and the integration loads the file into the Collabora back-end for editing, which is shown in a frame that’s integrated into the WebUI for either Nextcloud/Owncloud.

So in short, no.

If you want to use Collabora without Nextcloud/Owncloud/Existing integration, you will need to write a custom WebUI/integration to your storage.

Hi Tom,

thanks a lot for your helpful explanations. I don’t intend to write my own front end. J

Martin

Hi Martin,