Compatibility with MS: background image

Hello,
I am new to Coolabora Online and this forum. Generally very impressed how well it works. Running a Server on Debian11, Nextcloud24, installed CODE from the official repositories (22.05.6-3)

I installed this for a small company I work in. My colleagues generally didn’t know that alternatives to MS office exist (besides Google) and expect that things just work. I hope to achieve a good solution for them.

Background image works nice for .odf files in Collabora Online. But…

When I open the same file in MS Word or Google Docs the background disappears. Saving even deletes the background from file. I assume this might be intentionally broken, and not on collaboras business. However, I try to find a solution using Cool.

When I try to save the document as a .docx in Cool, the background also disappears.
When I use MS Word to make a .docx with background, the background becomes a regular image. The downside is mainly, that it is now quite easily possible to move the image around accidentally. Also the transparency is not kept. This is the best I have come so far, but I hope to get further.

Does anyone have a working method to use background-images across Cool and MS word?
Can it be considered a bug that Cool interprets the background-image as normal image? should I file a bug report somewhere?

Hoping to get more insight and find a solution,
Dominik

2 Likes

searching a bit I came across a bug at the documentfoundation that describes the same problem. How would one go about doing something about this?

2 Likes

Hello Dominik!

Welcome here - and sorry for replying late…

1 Like

I saw your post few days back on the train, didn’t reply by then, but indeed immediately thought of checking LibreOffice bug reports. As you did.
You must have seen tdf#126553
From the comments it appears, that Word has no support for the background images and background color of pages as it is in Writer.
What to about it…